India, an Enigma

“Better to see something once, than to hear about it a thousand times.”IMG_0165IMG_0166IMG_0164By the time I’d returned from my 10 days trip in India, I couldn’t possibly find words to describe India. I’d never thought I would enjoy my stay in India, let alone love it.  It was never on the list of my to-travel-to-places.  And even if it was, I’d never thought I’d be so mesmerized by it.

Sure I’d always return from the day with sweaty pits and soaking wet clothes with a tinge of odour, my skin roasted from top to toe, skin colour getting further from my origin each day; when I blew my nose it’s coated with tiny black particles and the ear buds used to clean my ears after I bath was bountiful.

Sure I’d find it extremely hot and humid, dirty and dusty.  It was loud and crowded at most places. Garbages piled up like mountains and the spitting of mouth residues everywhere. Got uncomfortable stares, strangers requesting for photos and males making the moves. Security was tight and was constantly annoyed by how inconvenient it was. Held on to my money tight and sucked up my sympathy everywhere I go as I was pestered by beggars and desperate souvenirs sellers who are commonly children.

Sure I was startled by their traffic. It was congested and chaotic at all times.  Roads were badly made and my ass slapped against the seat so many times over uneven roads, bumps and holes. Honks were echoing everywhere and cars frantically going opposite directions as though there were no traffic laws. The fragile autorickshaw drivers weaved in and out of the traffic so recklessly. And I gasped audibly too many times at the infinitely close proximity a car and the other were, risked my life over what could have been  an- almost – accident  each day.

IMG_0524IMG_0419IMG_0422IMG_0418I have witnessed poverty, the vulnerable living on streets begging for money, i have also witnessed the wealthy in lavish cars and gold jewelries.  I have stepped feet in schools for the highly educated and i have observed the illiterates roaming around the streets. I have experienced a 5 star hotel amenities and I had toilet stops during trips without access to water. I have visited the most iconic building in India, the marble of Taj Mahal shimmer with different coloured hues from the sunlight’s reflection. I have also seen rural houses without rooftops plastered with mud floors. I have noticed many religious centre and people worshipping their God yet i have heard about the ruthless people committing crimes.  Unlike how cows are the source of protein to my country’s people, I have watched how the traffic stops for the cows because they are deeply respected here.

I have also witnessed scared, beautiful moments – I was given bindis on my forehead and fragrant flower necklaces for special occasions. I was so warmly welcomed by these people as they danced for us and treated us with food.  I was awed by their panoply of colour of their bangles and silk Sarees. I have tasted a variety of flavourful food very often spicy and savoured dessert sometimes so sweet it gave you a toothache. I have learnt that the women growing up and living in poverty is the most innovating women that exist because they had to be. I have spoken in front of a crowd of women who fought for women’s rights and desire to create a change to their home country. I have realised it is possible to derive happiness and remain hopeful amidst the challenges faced by these people.

IMG_0168IMG_0545IMG_0269IMG_0431IMG_0493People said India- it’s an assault to the senses. Very true, I have heard, seen, smelled, touched, tasted more than i thought was possible. It is a land of contradictions. Whatever you have to say about it, the opposite is also true. It was intense and profound, I was intrigued and fascinated, I was passionate and fiery,  I was dumbfounded and loss for words.

You know, how India was portrayed to us outsiders by the media as a country that is political unsound and unsafe for tourist to visit. We hear about all the alarming crimes rates in India, death rates from road accidents, malnutrition and food poisoning. People born on the streets and die on the streets. India being the most dangerous country for women as women easily fall prey to rape cases, domestic violence, sexual assault and child trafficking. Women who have to live under constant fear because of their gender and baby girls lives end before they even begin. It’s a pity that people only knew this side and so little of India, it does not even do justice to all the abundance of things India has to offer.

Lets spread the words,  lets speak more about the beauty of India while still raising awareness of its social issues. And hopefully in time, our next generation will only hear of it as “The land where humanity presents itself in the most creative burst of colours, culture, religions, races and languages”, the epitome of love. Promise I will be back, India.

Namaste India, so full of life. 

Leave a comment